5 things I’m going to do when my child goes in the kindergarten

Polski    Deutsch

IMG_7809

My one and only son is almost 3 years old so it’s time for him to start his social education by… going to the kindergarten. The first 3 years of his life were beautiful but also pretty exhausting which every mother can relate to. There has also not been much space for mommy freedom during that time. Starting with breastfeeding, the life as I once knew has dramatically changed. Having to deal with the terrible threes I would count the days left until kindergarten start while tearing my hair out. So, I have made a list of things I’d like to do with all my spare time (till noon!):

  1. Shopping with actually trying the clothes on!

That was not possible for a very long time. I would either shop online, buy things without trying them on (not the best idea!) or not buy anything at all. Do you want to know why moms dress so weird? No shopping possibilities! Thank God for online shops! Otherwise I’d be wearing sweatpants every day.

  1. Spend a day at Ikea.

Going there alone is stressful enough but going with a small child is like praying for a disaster. It’s time for some new decorations!

  1. Spend half of the day in bed.

That hasn’t happened to me since university!

  1. Breakfast date with husband.

Breakfast dates are in. I know a coffee shop with a great breakfast buffet that is always full. You need to make reservations for a wednesday morning. Having a slow and peaceful breakfast has also become a luxury in the parenting world.

  1. Reading books.

I have about 20 books that are waiting to be read. I always buy the books I’d love to read but end up with no time to do it and the list grows. It’s their turn now!

2016-07-14-PHOTO-00000672

So, that was the plan, but the reality turned out to be different. The first day when I was sent home from the kindergarten, I sat in the car and cried because I have missed my baby boy. The next day I sat in his room, cried and waited for him. One more time I realized we need to enjoy the things we have in our lives because we are going to miss them later.

I still haven’t found the time to check those things off my list yet. It is a mystery to me how it is possible that I get up at 5.30 a.m., do things all the time, there is no end in sight and I end up exhausted on the couch by 8 p.m. I need to take a closer look at that and probably reorganize.

See you soon!

Leave a Reply

